Skip to content

The time is now

January 20, 2015

When I was putting out my paper for recycling the other day it struck me that this was something I would not have been able to do a few years ago. A few years ago I would not have had a company come by my house every Wednesday to pick up my unwanted paper and cardboard. They collect for free and then make some money off it on the other end. I get what I want (a clean house and a contribution to recycling) and they get what they want. What more could you want?

I know other countries have had sidewalk pick up for years but the point is that when it became easier I automatically recycled more. I still have to drive a few kilometres to throw my glass out but it’s easy enough. Also a facility that wasn’t around more than a few years ago. Thanks to that glass bin being there I recycle more.

I also discovered a few years ago that several charity organisations collect unwanted items from your house and so I up cycle and re-use (well, someone else does) more and encourage others to do the same. It fantastic.

I got a guy over to our house today to do a quote on solar. It’s a big and costly step but we can do it so we’re going to. I’ll be less reliant on fossil fuel. Thank you sunny South Africa for my free hot water (soon anyway).

My point is, being environmentally is easy these days. Really easy, really accessible. Most people have no excuse to not recycle, up cycle, re-use, reduce.

IN South Africa, the poorest of the poor have gotten into the recycling business because every plastic bottle they salvage from a bin or dump means that they get to have a meal that night. They work hard and it’s clearly no fun but they have recognised it as an industry. If they can work so hard to recycle your plastic trash then the least you can do is put it out for them in a separate bag or on top of your other rubbish.

Get with the programme. Start recycling today

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

